11 September, 2019

Diamond League Champions 2019 - Field

  • © IAAF Diamond League

Surprise packages, first-time winners and a record-equalling seventh Diamond Trophy for a certain American superstar: the Diamond League Finals served up everything you could wish for in the field disciplines as a total of 14 athletes were crowned 2019 Diamond League Champion in their chosen event.

High Jump Men

Andriy Protsenko pulled off a season's best of 2.32m in Zurich to edge past reigning champion Brandon Starc and become the second Ukrainian to win the Diamond Trophy in the men's high jump. 

High Jump Women

Simply unbeatable over the last three years, Mariya Lasitskene's triumph never seemed in doubt, and she claimed a fourth career Diamond Trophy with a 1.99m jump in Brussels.

Pole Vault Men

Having ended Renaud Lavillenie's seven-year hegemony in 2017, Sam Kendricks then lost the Diamond Trophy to Timur Morgunov last year, but the American restored his title in Zurich with a jump of 5.93m to beat the likes of Lavillenie, Piotr Lisek and Mondo Duplantis. 

Pole Vault Women

It was a fourth consecutive Diamond Trophy for Katerina Stefanidi, who once again delivered when it really mattered as she cleared a season's best of 4.83m in Brussels. 

Triple Jump Men

Lavillenie's pole vault defeat in Zurich meant that Christian Taylor had the chance to equal the Frenchman's record of seven career Diamond Trophies. Taylor did just that with a meeting record of 17.85m in Brussels. 

Triple Jump Women

The women's triple jump has been almost impossible to call this year, but in the end it was Jamaica's Shanieka Ricketts who claimed a first career Diamond Trophy, beating the likes of Yulimar Rojas with a PB of 14.93m.

Long Jump Men

Juan Miguel Echevarria also won his first ever Diamond Trophy with an earth-shattering 8.65m in the men's long jump in Zurich. 

Long Jump Women

Not to be outdone by her male counterpart, in-form German Malaika Mihambo produced a superb performance herself in the women's long jump final, clearing the seven-metre mark to take a well-earned maiden Diamond Trophy. 

Javelin Throw Men

The age of German dominance appears to be waning after Magnus Kirt outshone several Teutonic rivals to become the first Estonian since Gerd Kanter to win the Diamond Trophy with an 89.13m effort in Zurich.

Javelin Throw Women

Dominant throughout the season, China's Lyu Huihui cruised to her first Diamond Trophy with a 66.88m throw in Zurich.

Shot Put Men

Dethroned in the same setting by Darrell Hill back in 2017, Tom Walsh showed his best form in Brussels city centre this time around, marking 22.30m to win his third Diamond Trophy in four years. 

Shot Put Women

It was a third title in a row for China's Gong Lijiao in the women's shot put as she smashed the Zurich meeting record with 20.31m. 

Discus Throw Men

Beaten by Jamaican rival Fedrick Dacres in last year's final, Daniel Stahl finally picked up his first career Diamond Trophy with a convincing win in Brussels, his 68.68m winning mark over two metres clear of second-placed Lukas Weisshaidinger. 

Discus Throw Women

After a difficult season, there was to be no seventh Diamond Trophy for Croatian legend Sandra Perkovic. Instead, Cuba's Yaime Perez defended her 2018 title with an impressive 68.27.